

Service Director – Legal, Governance and Commissioning Samantha Lawton Governance and Commissioning

PO Box 1720 Huddersfield HD1 9EL Tel: 01484 221000

Decision Summary

Committee: Date: Committee Clerk: TEL:

Chair Councillor Nosheen Dad

Councillors Attended

Councillor Beverley Addy **Councillor Masood Ahmed Councillor Munir Ahmed** Councillor Itrat Ali Councillor Karen Allison **Councillor Zarina Amin** Councillor Ammar Anwar **Councillor Bill Armer** Councillor Ali Arshad **Councillor Timothy Bamford** Councillor Donna Bellamy **Councillor Tanisha Bramwell Councillor Cahal Burke** Councillor Aafaq Butt Councillor Martyn Bolt **Councillor Andrew Cooper Councillor Moses Crook** Councillor Aziz Daji Councillor Hanifa Darwan Councillor Eric Firth **Councillor Charles Greaves** Councillor David Hall **Councillor Tyler Hawkins Councillor Caroline Holt Councillor James Homewood** Councillor Yusra Hussain Councillor Zahid Kahut **Councillor Viv Kendrick**

COUNCIL WEDNESDAY 16 OCTOBER 2024 Andrea Woodside 01484 221000 Councillor Musarrat Khan Councillor Jo Lawson Councillor John Lawson Councillor Vivien Lees-Hamilton Councillor Susan Lee-Richards Councillor David Longstaff **Councillor Gwen Lowe** Councillor Harry McCarthy Councillor Hannah McKerchar Councillor Matthew McLoughlin Councillor Alison Munro Councillor Darren O'Donovan Councillor Carole Pattison Councillor Amanda Pinnock Councillor Andrew Pinnock Councillor Ashleigh Robinson Councillor Jane Rylah Councillor Imran Safdar Councillor Cathy Scott **Councillor Angela Sewell** Councillor Joshua Sheard Councillor Will Simpson Councillor Anthony Smith Councillor Elizabeth Smaje **Councillor Richard Smith** Councillor Mohan Sokhal Councillor John Taylor Councillor Mark Thompson Councillor Graham Turner Councillor Sheikh Ullah **Councillor Alex Vickers** Councillor Habiban Zaman

Apologies

Councillor Paola Antonia Davies, Councillor Lisa Holmes, Councillor Andrew Marchington, Councillor Tony McGrath, Councillor Paul Moore, Councillor Kath Pinnock and Councillor Adam Zaman

10: Corporate Governance and Audit Committee - Annual Report 2023/2024 (Reference from Corporate Governance and Audit Committee)

To receive the Annual Report.

Contact: Leigh Webb, Acting Head of Governance

RESOLVED – That the Corporate Governance and Audit Committee Annual Report be received and that the assurances that the Committee complies with CIPFA's Position Statement: Audit Committees in Local Authorities and Police be noted.

11: Report of the Members Allowances Independent Review Panel (Reference from Corporate Governance and Audit Committee)

To consider the report.

Contact: Leigh Webb, Acting Head of Governance

RESOLVED –

- 1) That no changes be made to the 2024/2025 Members Allowances Scheme, other than to apply the same percentage pay award awarded to Officers to the basic allowances and that SRAs be backdated to 1 April 2024.
- That the same percentage pay award awarded to Officers be continually applied to the basic allowance and SRAs in subsequent years, in accordance with the recommendation of the Democracy Commission (2017).
- 3) That it be noted that the Panel will reconvene to consider the Members Allowances Scheme for 2025/2026, in line with the issues identified in the report at Appendix A, along with any other additional issues as determined by the Panel.

12: Overview and Scrutiny Annual Report (Reference from Overview and Scrutiny Committee)

To receive the Overview and Scrutiny Annual Report 2023/2024.

Contact: Leigh Webb, Acting Head of Governance

RESOLVED – That the Overview and Scrutiny Committee Annual Report be received and noted.

13: Appointment of Chair - Licensing and Safety Committee

To consider the appointment of the Chair of Licenisng and Safety Committee for the remainder of the 2024/2025 municipal year.

Contact: Leigh Webb, Acting Head of Governance

RESOLVED – That Councillor Eric Firth be appointed as Chair of Licensing and Safety Committee, with immediate effect, for the remainder of the 2024/2025 municipal year.

14: Appointment of Chair - Personnel Committee

To consider the appointment of the Chair of Personnel Committee for the remainder of the 2024/2025 municipal year.

Contact: Leigh Webb, Acting Head of Governance

RESOLVED – That Councillor Carole Pattison be appointed as Chair of Personnel Committee, with immediate effect, for the remainder of the 2024/2025 municipal year.